Navigation
You were redirected from a different version of the documentation. Click here to go back.

Remove a Process from Management or Monitoring

On this page

Overview

You can remove a process from management, monitoring, or both. Removing a process does not shut down the process. You can remove individual processes or an entire cluster or replica set.

Managed Processes

Removing a process from management (i.e., Automation) means you can no longer control it directly through Ops Manager. If you are removing a managed process and want to be able to easily stop and start the process after removal, you can create scripts for stopping and starting the process.

If you do not want to leave a managed process running after removal, shut down the process before removing it.

You can continue to monitor the process after unmanaging it. If you do continue monitoring the process, you do not need to change any backups running for that process.

As an alternative to removing a process from automated management, you can temporarily suspend management of the process. This is useful if you need to temporarily shut down the process, for example for maintenance, and do not want Ops Manager to automatically start the process back up until you are ready.

Monitored Processes

Removing a process from monitoring means Ops Manager no longer displays its status or tracks its metrics.

Before you can remove monitored deployment, you must terminate the deployment’s backups.

As an alternative to removing a process from monitoring, you can instead disable its alerts, which allows you to continue to view the process in the Deployment page but turns off notifications about its status. To use this option, see Disable Alerts for a Specific Process.

Procedures

Remove a Process from Management

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

On the line listing the cluster, replica set, or process, click the ellipsis icon and select the option to remove it.

3

Select whether to also stop monitoring the process.

Select one of the following and click Remove. If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code.

Unmanage this item but continue to monitor Removes the process from management only. You can no longer control the process through Ops Manager, but Ops Manager continues to display its status and track its metrics.
Completely remove

Removes the processes from both management and monitoring. Ops Manager no longer displays the process.

Before you can completely remove a managed deployment, you must terminate the deployment’s backups.

4

Click Review & Deploy to review your changes.

5

Review and approve your changes.

Ops Manager displays your proposed changes.

  1. If you are satisfied, click Confirm & Deploy.
  2. Otherwise, click Cancel and you can make additional changes.

Remove a Process from Monitoring

For processes that are monitored but not managed, do the following to remove the processes from monitoring:

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

On the line listing the process, click the ellipsis icon and select the option to remove it.

3

Click the Remove button.

If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code.