Navigation
You were redirected from a different version of the documentation. Click here to go back.

Clear Security Settings

On this page

Overview

Ops Manager enables you to configure the security settings that your deployments use through the Ops Manager user interface. If you wish to reset the security settings for your deployment, you may do so using the Clear Settings button. Clear Settings clears all authentication-related settings so you can start over from a blank configuration.

Clear Settings removes all authentication-related settings, including the authentication mechanisms for the deployment, automation users and roles, and defined users for the Monitoring and Backup agents.

You cannot reset the security settings for a deployment if your deployment includes any managed processes.

Procedure

You may only reset the authentication settings if there are no managed processes associated with your deployment. As such, if you wish to reset the security settings, you must unmanage all processes, and then use the Clear Settings button to reset the security settings.

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

On the line listing the cluster, replica set, or process, click the ellipsis icon and select the option to remove it.

3

Select whether to also stop monitoring the process.

Select Unmanage this item but continue to monitor and click Remove. If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code.

You do not need to stop monitoring a process in order to reset the security settings.

4

Click Deployment, then the Security tab, and then Authentication & SSL.

5

Click Clear Settings.

The Clear Settings button resets the security settings for your Ops Manager deployment.

Important

If you still have managed processes, the Clear Settings button is grayed out.

6

To confirm that you wish to clear the security settings, click Clear Settings.

7

Click Review & Deploy to review your changes.

8

Review and approve your changes.

Ops Manager displays your proposed changes.

  1. If you are satisfied, click Confirm & Deploy.
  2. Otherwise, click Cancel and you can make additional changes.

Ops Manager will reset all security settings. You can now edit the security settings if you wish to. To resume management of any processes, see: Add Monitored Processes to Automation.